Clannad

by Legend

Clannad is currently my favourite anime of all time. That’s not saying much, since I only recently started watching anime “professionally”, but I daresay Clannad is my favourite TV series of all time.

First of all, it’s got a great storyline. The male protagonist, Tomoya Okazaki, is a delinquent (a young person who defies authority); he arrives late for school, skips classes, and often stays out during the night.

Tomoya Okazaki

Ever since his mother did in a car accident, Tomoya’s father turned to drinking and constantly argues with Tomoya. Tomoya’s arm was injured in a fight with his father, and now their relationship is distant.

On his way to school one day, Tomoya meets Nagisa Furukawa. Nagisa is in her senior year, like Tomoya, but is one year older than him because of a nine-month illness that kept her out of school the previous year.

 

Nagisa Furukawa

Nagisa wants to revive the drama club, which is suspended because of lack of members. By herself, she does not have enough self-confidence, but with Tomoya’s help Nagisa attempts to make friends to help with the drama club.

That’s the main plot, but there are several other characters important to the story as well.

The other main characters are:

Ryou  (left) & Kyou (right) Fujibayashi

 

Kotomi Ichinose

 

Tomoyo Sakagami (Yes her name is similar to Tomoya’s)

 

And my favourite, Fuko Ibuki, the starfish fanatic! As stated in the About page, Fuko is the reason I named my new blog the Starfish Festival.

 

Fuko in “Starfish Mode”

I’d recommend Clannad, but it’s probably a PG13+ kind of Anime, namely because of mild language and ideas that are hard to grasp for younger children (e.g. Tomoya’s drunk father and dead mother). There is no graphical violence and there are no “bad scenes”, if you know what I mean.

Anyways, so far I’ve just finished episode 20 of 24 in Clannad. After Clannad, there is a second series called Clannad ~After Story~, also with 24 episodes.

I’ll occasionally write a short review of the episodes I watch, and when I’m done with the series I’ll write my full thoughts on it.

Starfish away~!

2 Comments to “Clannad”

  1. Go~~~~ Clannad! >_ Good with one more person my world domination using Clannad is succeeding! XD

Leave a Comment

